Day 3 – my day in great detail

Standard

Are you ready for this? (I’m not, but) here goes:

04:45 – alarm clock goes off. Press snooze.

04:50 – alarm clock goes off. Press snooze.

04:55 – alarm clock goes off. Press snooze.

05:00 – alarm clock goes off. Sigh. Get up. Get dressed and the stuff that goes with that (avoiding detail in the interest of avoiding TMI)

05:20 – disarm home security system, unlock the gate, switch on GPS and programme it with the work address, pull through gate, lock gate, open gate, drive out, wait for gate to close, drive to Sandton while listening to The count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (chapter 95).

06:00 – 07:00 get to work, set up and switch on laptop, make coffee. Apply a smattering of makeup (this is very unusual, but I’m working on the premise “If I look good I’ll feel good”, not having slept well for several weeks. It doesn’t really work). Check work mail. Check Gmail. Check Twitter. Check Facebook. Check bank balance. Weep silently for a bit after that. Check Pinterest to cheer myself up. Still listening to the audio book.

07:00 – copy check presentation, write copy for two mock-ups. Chat with best friend on Skype. Chat with mom on Skype. Chat with colleagues as they start coming in.

09:00 – find out the brainstorm session that was scheduled has been cancelled. Discuss another project with colleague.

10:00 – go through Google Reader, order tomato and cheese sandwich on brown from the canteen. Walk down to canteen with two colleagues. Consume said sandwich while walking back to the office. Resume audio book, draft this post. Browse Pinterest, drink water, glare at people from other departments walking around. I’ve had two “not suitable for the position” messages already, and feeling decidedly low.

11:20 – seek refuge and inspiration on Pinterest once more. Tempted to close my eyes and take a nap (had a better night than several others in recent weeks, but there’s such a huge sleep deficit, I don’t think I’ll ever catch up). Discuss a project and some ideas with colleague

13:00 – 14:00 Lunch time! Meeting with a union representative about the current work situation. It’s all good news, but I still feel depressed going back to the office.

14:00 – 16:00 Fiddle with this post a little more. Willing a brewing headache into submission. Resisting the urge to cry and slap people. Apply for half a day’s leave on Tuesday. Stare at the time. Ignoring my tummy’s pleas for food. Take a walk to vida e cafe at 24 Central with favouritest colleague where she buys me a cafe gelado and a chocolate croissant. Seeing as I kind of skipped having food for lunch I have a bit of the hypoglycemic shakes. The coffee might be a mistake with the recent weeks’ insomnia, but it’s the only way I feel like I can get through the rest of the day. It’s turned out to be quite a hot day.

16:00 – switch off and pack up laptop, take the lift down to the basement, place bags in car’s boot, and drive to Nicolway, where I plan to meet Nafisa for early dinner and catch up.

Afterwards I will programme my GPS for home, and with a bit of luck, by that time the traffic will be all over and I’ll get home in about 40 minutes. Then I’ll have a bath, read in bed, check on Zombie Farm (horror of all horrors, I forgot my iPad at home today!),  and switch off my light at around 21:00. With a bit of luck I won’t wake up before the alarm goes off tomorrow, but I’m not holding my breath for that either.

That’s as much detail as I can bear to share.

Leave a Reply

