Friends for better and worse

Standard

My three best friends’ birthdays are coming up in the next couple of months: in April the friend I met online who became an offline ally five years; a partner in crime whose acerbic, sarcastic personality mirrors mine so perfectly, and makes any social gathering so much more interesting. She doesn’t judge me, I don’t judge her. We teach each other things, we tell each other pretty much everything. We don’t see each other as much as we should, but we chat often. For her birthday I’d like to take her to High Tea at the Saxon and give her a pink Kitchenaid mixer (hoping that she’ll stop resisting and restart a food blog again).

In May my oldest friend is celebrating her birthday. Thirteen years ago she helped me find a bit of balance, when it felt like my life was spinning out of control. It’s still spinning, but I’m better able to go with the centrifugal force than just letting it swoop me any which way. We don’t chat as often as we used to, but see each other every six weeks or so at our book club meetings. She is a domestic goddess that can put Nigella to shame, but she’s always running around, multitasking, and for her birthday I’d also like to take her to the Saxon for High Tea, but the Kenwood Cooking Chef will make multitasking so much easier.

The person whom I believe to be my soul mate, who has seen me at my best, my worst and everything in between for 11 years; who knows every single thing about me; with whom I share even the smallest detail of my every day and still chooses to be my friend, unjudging, celebrates his birthday in July. There are so many things I’d love to give him, but the thing he probably needs most of all is a washing machine. And a whole lot of groceries.

I don’t have many friends – I don’t trust people easily anymore. And all of the people I consider friends are incredibly special people who have made a difference in my life. But these three friends – they have helped me be who I am, and they help me through the struggles I still so often face. And nothing I give them will ever be thanks enough for their friendship.

Leave a Reply

