Relocation update

Standard

Four nights at my brother’s place and I have the following to report back:

Aside from not doing mornings, his wife apparently also doesn’t do dishes.
Her daughter (14) loves wearing makeup, and I fear for my extensive (and expensive) collection. She also talks in her sleep (and that’s apparently the least of it. At least six more weeks of this. Hooray!)
Warm baths are a myth.
Dogs are nocturnal creatures.
The neighbours are inconsiderate idiots.
We live inside Fort Knox with a crazy amount of keys I’m still trying to figure out. This resulted in my having a major hissy fit, cursing, screaming, throwing keys around, crying, etc.

This is not a promising start. My brother, bless his cotton socks, are really trying to make it nice for my mom and me, but one out of three is not really good enough. I’m focusing on the silver lining that is the unlimited internet access, but I’m not sure that’s going to sustain me for six weeks. On the upside, I’ve been asked to housesit for a friend for two weeks. If I could afford feeding myself for those two weeks I would’ve moved in there for the time, but as it is I will drive through after work, feed the pets, make sure everything’s fine, have a long hot bath and return home. I’ll crash there for two weekends, most likely staying in bed with my laptop, thus not needing extra energy/nutrition.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that while it’s really cool, the Gautrain is costing me more at the moment than what petrol does, and since I still have to drive to the station and back, I’m not really saving on time either. So from Monday I’ll be driving again. The bit of exercise I was forced to do walking from the Sandton station to my office and back was pretty cool (although my calves and leg joints will not agree). I’ll just have to spend some time with the Wii Balance Board. And cut down on sugar again – since moving back to Pretoria I’ve gained almost 5kg back (amazing what difference a third meal makes).

I’m still obsessing about money – maybe more so since my mom is worried that she won’t have enough money to finish our flat. I have nothing extra I can contribute. At one stage I was torn between giving her my entire 13th cheque in December and saving it in its entirety in an effort to start building a safety net. Initially the plan was to save only two thirds and buying myself a nice belated birthday/Christmas present. Not sure that will happen either; last month I was keen to do a high tea party at Annica’s (at less than R100 per person, despite the eight-person minimum requirement, it’s a steal!), but have since decided that I can use the money to paint my room/buy a new mattress or chair for my room, etc.

So if you feel like throwing some bricks/paint/cement, etc. our way, we will write your name in the cement (under our tiled floors, of course, but you know :P).

About Syllable

A frugal shopaholic called Syllable: Intelligent, skeptic, curious, naïve, passionate, moody, honest, creative, obsessive & obsessed. A dreamer, a worrier, a writer, a reader, a listener, an observer. My little site of fiction: http://www.thesinglesyllable.co.za/

One response »

  1. Pingback: Well…What is Wii Fit? | Wii Fit Girl

Leave a Reply

