Another dreadful countdown

Standard

Five months. That’s all I have to plan my next mother of a pity party. You see, yesterday I was watching reruns (are there any other kind of show on DSTV?) of Cake Boss, when I realised it’s downhill to my next birthday. And I pondered getting some people together, feeding them cake (as much as I’d like to keep all the cake in the world for myself) in a pleasant setting, along with some fabulous drinky-goodies. Well, I pondered for all of 10 minutes before realising that I don’t have money for a venue, cake and drinky-goodies for people outside my family (and even the family will only get the tiniest slices of cake and will have to make their own coffee). And any money I manage to save in the meantime I’d rather spend on making myself happy than feeding other people. Yes, I guess I’m a little strange that way. Maybe one day when I’m not obsessing about having enough food for my family, about paying my debt and about money in general, I’ll happily entertain the masses. In fact, I’m so hopeful about that, I’ve added it to my bucket list. Some of you (yes, I’m assuming I have a large and wide-read audience), may have seen my list before, but I’ve modified it to having those things I reasonably expect to achieve within the next year or two (so if anyone feels like helping me cross any off the list in five months, you know how to get hold of me). Also, that was not a hint for the friendly neighbourhood stalker. I’m trying to see how many and how generous readers of this blog are (trying to be optimistic here).

Hot air balloon ride
A spa day with all the trimmings (maybe even an overnight stay)
Learn to sketch
Learn to make something new with origami
Sew a dress
Throw a big party
Host book club meeting
Make candles
Take a proper holiday, like at a resort or something like that.
Complete La Mer range
Christian Louboutin heels (Or at least sexy heels from Aldo)
64GB iPod touch/16GB iPod Nano
Diamond earings (nothing big and blingy; plain little studs would do)
Red heels
Macbook
Tattoo
Kindle 4 + skin + lighted leather cover (apple green)
High tea at The Saxon (I love the Westcliff, but think it’s time to try something new. Although, as long as there’s cake I’ll go anywhere!)
A new bed – one I can choose for aesthetics and comfort
A reading chair for my room (because my bed can’t handle my sleeping in AND living on it)

Now to start saving in order to make these happen. I’ve requested a quote for the tattoo – I think it’s important for the stage in my life I’m going through; maybe that will be the first thing I cross off the list.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Five weeks… « Mishmash mind bubbles

Leave a Reply

