We interrupt normal programming for this WTF?! post

Standard

My brother just called me. This is rather unusual – the last time he called me the father had just tried to run him over and he was wondering if I had the father’s car registration (we usually call each other if one needs something; yes we are bad siblings), but this morning we just had a chat. About the retarded people in our life i.e. the father and the first wife.

The father has told the lawyer he moved out because “he feared for his life”. Anyone who knows my parents will know how absurd this is. And now the first wife wants to keep my nephew away from my mom. He’s approaching his teenage years and she’s not doing herself any favours, but what pisses me off the most is that my mom lives for that boy.

I found all this rather hilarious at first. Now I’m just beyond depressed and ready to go sit in a corner and cry until I die. I had an idyllic childhood, and my life was never perfect, but seriously, when did it get to be so totally screwed up?

I really don’t know how much more of this I can take. I do know that I don’t want to put up with any of this any more. I can barely take care of myself and my debt (okay, to be honest I’m nowhere near in control of even that), and part of the reason I moved away from my mother is so that she can be less dependend on me and I worry less about her, but if anything, I’m stressing more. She’s not going through an easy stint and then this alcoholic, cheating, compulsive lying bastard does this.

I hope he’s happy, because I sure as hell am not.

About Syllable

A frugal shopaholic called Syllable: Intelligent, skeptic, curious, naïve, passionate, moody, honest, creative, obsessive & obsessed. A dreamer, a worrier, a writer, a reader, a listener, an observer. My little site of fiction: http://www.thesinglesyllable.co.za/

Leave a Reply

